Racial Oppression & Moving Onward

by: @marylandforward
Audio interview with Larry Pretlow on July 29, 2017

Larry’s position on the issue:

CHOICES AND RACIAL OPPRESSION 

We want a state that exemplifies to America, the oppression of racism, the color of skin, will no longer be a determining factor in how anyone is treated in our society, our workplaces nor in our justice system. However, the choices and decisions that we each make will be a reflection of our own character – and so, one’s character will be the definition of who he or she is as individuals -and that alone will determine the opportunities we each are afforded. Therefore, the determination of character must be done so with fairness and reason without consideration of race, gender, sexual orientation, disability, mental health, public status or being vocal.


What does Larry believe about Racial Oppression? Does it still exist? 

I believe that there are possibly still folks who consider or are more concerned with skin color over character or person. But, I don’t make that assessment that all people function day-to-day making determinations of each other because of skin color. In my time, in my experience, I believe people or more recently concerned with actions, statements, and behaviors. In other words, the choices that a person makes, and my interaction with a person would be the deciding factors in how I view that person overall. I think a large portion of America is that way. Now there is an existing population that is race-driven but with that being said – what powers do they really have? If you don’t play into their treatment or statements or even their actions then those folks are powerless.

For those who deal in racial prejudices, how do you disarm them of any “power” they have? 

When I speak about power, I’m talking about the “sticks and stones will break my bones, but words will never hurt me” approach. Look, people do things to other people for many reasons.  And listen, I don’t want to downplay the existence of racism in America, but when I say that those who deal that way are powerless – at least over me, my family and my friends, I’m saying that I don’t buy into entertaining foolery. I get up every day like many other people, and I make the choice to go to work and to care enough to get there on time and to do what my employer asks of me – even if I believe the wages are too low. I see the bigger picture and not only the value but the benefit of working for an honest living as opposed to stealing from someone else who is working for an honest living or even someone who isn’t working but has something of value to them. I come from a place where I didn’t have it all, at all. But I made a choice, that no one gave me. And I believe that men of color at any age can be capable of making that choice. If you want to do right, you will. We shouldn’t make everything around us and that happens to us an excuse for doing otherwise. In fact, oppression and hardships should push us in the right direction every time. It’s not easier said than done, but it’s easier to do than to do to otherwise.

When a black parent tells their black son or daughter views that support the existence of racism in today’s America, what crosses your mind? What would you tell that child? 

I support the teaching of our history, but it’s not what you say its how you say it and I think that we should share with all Americans the history of our nation, the good and the bad – but for the purpose of saying that’s that and this is now. I always say, let’s not be oppressed by history but encouraged, to be better and different. We shouldn’t teach a young black man that the police is only out to wrongfully arrest or kill him, instead, the lesson is if you are ever doing whatever you are doing, make sure you are obeying the law the best you can and if a police officer says anything to you be kind and obey that officer. If you think the officer is in the wrong then tell someone else as soon as you feel comfortable to do so. The worst advice is the example that every officer is going to wrongfully arrest you or kill you, even if you have a reason. When you tell someone to think about their own behavior they get offended, but most of the time there is something that they did or said that progressed certain matters, rather they started it or not. And I’m not here to point fingers, but I want to save and prolong lives using rationale and common sense. Yes, there is a history between the whites and the blacks – but I am not living life the same as a black man who was a slave on a plantation, I am getting up and going to work with my white peers – that’s reality.

Why do you believe choices outweigh race/skin color? 

I strongly believe that choices outweigh race and skin color because blacks dislike other blacks who commit crimes and whites dislike whites who commit crimes. If anyone is making determinations of you based on your race or skin color, and if you care so much about that, then use that to say I’m no different than you or the next man. People do it all the time regardless of their race, it’s called working in customer service. We sometimes adjust our behaviors and our speech when speaking with customers or our managers, even with peers. We do it with the neighbors and people we don’t like. If you’re so smart then have an educated conversation – it’s that simple. Yes, the next argument would be that whites get less harsh sentences in the justice system, well let’s do all that we can to change the justice system and stay out of it even once it’s fair. No one wants to have that conversation.

You have stated that some people use their race as a justification for how they are truly treated by others, what do you mean by that?

What I said is that people shouldn’t do bad things and then cry racism. Even with the police, there are instances of unfortunate situations where the officer who may be in the wrong is also black. There are instances where officers who may be in the wrong are white or even Asian. So the issue with the police and their wrongdoings against citizens is a police cultural defect that most blacks have minimized to white officers. Don’t sell drugs, taunt and tort the police, commit crimes against your own community and people, and then say your interaction with the police is race based – even if that’s the case by any measure, now that we are asserting race, let’s then think about your personal conduct or behaviors before and during that interaction – you uncover a whole lot of truth when you do and people don’t want to face that music. Maybe the problem is that you are being a criminal, a menace to the community – and just maybe your race is the last thing on the officer’s mind, maybe you’re just a good catch for the books. Now, why live that way? and then assert race at every attempt to hold you accountable for your crimes.

Is race the reason for unemployment in that black community?

No, it’s not, but drugs are, the criminal offenses are, those are the reasons. To some extent, we have to fix that by declaring drug use as a mental health issue and providing real-life rehabilitation and we have to adjust the justice system on how we convict for petty crimes and so forth.  With that being taken into consideration, it all comes down to the choice we make in our lives from day-to-day. Do I want a job or is it convenient to say no ones hiring me because I’m black and I wear this..or I’m black and I’m from here…or I’m black with dreads. There are companies that will hire you, in fact, a majority of retailers and security services support diversity in the workforce. If you are using illegal drugs than of course no one is going to hire you if the job requires a drug test. I do support legalizing marijuana because it will help reduce senseless criminal convictions. So no, Race is not the reason for unemployment in the black community, crime is the reason, the choice to commit crimes rather than to work. If you believe someone is not hiring you because of your Race then file an EEO complaint – now if everyone who feels the same did that, we would have to seriously investigate that employer – and so, we have to speak up not just blame others for our convenience. When that happens we have to say something.

You have had employment battles with the United States Postal Service, do you believe that race plays a factor in those hardships?

Well those matters are still open, but here’s what I will say, as of this far, no I don’t believe that race played a factor in those issues. I believe that as a whistleblower I saw, heard and lived through things that were undoubtedly unfair, unjust and unethical and I spoke up about all of it; and at some point during all of it, I even rallied other employees and we filed a joint hostile work environment complaint that was found in our favor. So I made the choice to speak up and unfortunately that choice had harsh unjust and unethical consequences but I grew to learn and understand that when you speak up, its not going to be easy but you have to speak up and thankfully at some point things are going to get better. No one should be retaliated against for speaking up in the workplace and the leaders of any agency or company should listen to its employees with careful consideration and conduct unbiased investigations for the protection of not just the employees but even the agency. Instead I was painted as anything but pleasant by people who have made careers out of treating their vocal employees very harshly.


The Take-away

Larry believes that racial oppression can overall be a thing of the past in America. However, he understands that people are people and will think and believe what they choose. So he spoke on the choice that we all have to make determinations of others, if any, based on the character of a man or a woman, not race and not skin color.

Larry believes that the issues with police in America are not limited to the black community if fact he believes that it is a police cultural defect that has unfairly been limited to primarily white officers. He also pointed out that in some recent national headlines involving the police, the officers were not all black.

Larry believes that parents should advise their children to obey police officers and speak up if something is wrong – when it is safe or comfortable to do so.

Larry supports the teaching of our history but not for the purpose of convincing children into the mind that they are being oppressed – instead, our history should encourage us to be better and different.

Larry believes that senseless criminal convictions and poor choices contribute to the unemployment rates in the black community. If you believe someone has discriminated against you because of your race you should file an EEO complaint against the employer.

Larry believes that being a whistleblower is a service and not a disservice, while it required sacrifice and courage. He suffered harsh treatment and a hostile work environment but never allowed any of that to discourage him from speaking up. He didn’t believe that race played a part, but he was retaliated against from speaking up.

###

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑